Calling gadirector via web service, passing variables

Post any question you may have in regards to GoAnywhere Director and let our talented support staff and other users assist you.
4 posts Page 1 of 1

Adam Dray

Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:16 pm

Post by Adam Dray » Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:30 pm
We'd like to call GA Director directly via a web service. We do this successfully with one project, using a URL like this:
Code: Select all
http://hostname:8000/goanywhere/servlets/runProjectCommand?user=LOGIN&password=PASSWORD&projectLocation=PROJECTLOCATION&mode=batch
Can we pass variables into GA Director, and how? Can we just add them as URL parameters? Like this (with no linefeeds, yeah):
Code: Select all
http://hostname:8000/goanywhere/servlets/runProjectCommand?user=LOGIN&password=PASSWORD&projectLocation=PROJECTLOCATION&mode=batch
&myvariable=value&myothervariable=value
(I realize that gacmd.exe and its Linux equivalent support this via a "-variables" parameter. I'd rather not install gacmd.exe on 70 servers to connect them to this project, which is why I want to use the web service.)

Support_Rick

Support Specialist
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Support_Rick » Mon Jun 15, 2015 3:15 pm
How will you be making that connection? C#? Java?
Rick Elliott
Lead Solutions Consultant
(402) 944.4242
(800) 949-4696

Adam Dray

Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:16 pm

Post by Adam Dray » Thu Jun 18, 2015 10:28 am
One service will call from Java.

Another service will call from Progress.

Really, it shouldn't matter (GET parameters are the same regardless of client), unless you're gonna tell me another API I can use in Java AND Progress without installing GACMD.EXE on 70+ Progress servers. <=)

Adam Dray

Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:16 pm

Post by Adam Dray » Thu Jun 18, 2015 1:11 pm
This is resolved by RunProject Programmers Guide.doc, which says:
In addition to the above parameters, this service accepts any variables that were defined in the project. When posting the project variable, each variable name must be prefixed with "p_". For example, if you have a variable named "file" defined in your project and if you want to override its value for a particular execution, you would post a parameter named "p_file" with the desired value.
4 posts Page 1 of 1