Changing multiple GA projects

Post any question you may have in regards to GoAnywhere Director and let our talented support staff and other users assist you.
3 posts Page 1 of 1

rarogerson

Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 4:03 pm

Post by rarogerson » Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:45 am
We currently have 16 GA projects which include sending/receiving files via FTP. We have created a test FTP site and created a new FTP resource in GA.
All this works fine and this is not an issue.

What I'd like to know is if there is a way to easily change all 16 GA projects to connect to the TESTFTP server rather than having to go into each individual project and change it one at a time.

Thanks,

Rob

Support_Rick

Support Specialist
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Support_Rick » Thu Jul 23, 2015 9:32 am
Rob,

If you defined the connections as Resources (FTP, SFTP, FTPS, etc) then pointed to those resources, all you would have to do is to modify the resource and it would switch from Test FTP to Prod FTP (ie, change the IP, userID/Password, etc). Once you test, then save, it would affect all Projects that use that Resource.

Another option is to create a Folder Variable indicating whether job is to be run as TEST or PROD. Then, inside your project, check the Variable. If equal to PROD, use PROD FTP Resource, otherwise, use TEST FTP Resource.

There are several ways to accommodate this.
Rick Elliott
Lead Solutions Consultant
(402) 944.4242
(800) 949-4696

rarogerson

Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 4:03 pm

Post by rarogerson » Thu Jul 23, 2015 9:37 am
Thanks Rick, I think I'll look into the second option as I don't think changing the resource is an option as this would cause problems for other projects.

Thanks,

Rob
3 posts Page 1 of 1