Closed without indication

Post any question you may have in regards to GoAnywhere Director and let our talented support staff and other users assist you.
6 posts Page 1 of 1

Rocky

Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:38 am

Post by Rocky » Fri Nov 07, 2014 4:16 pm
Every so often we get FTP projects that fail. The only error is that the FTP session was closed without indication. What does this mean?

- Roc

Support_Rick

Support Specialist
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Support_Rick » Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Roc,

This could be one of many reasons. Dropped line, server IPL, Router or Switch issue.
We have no way of determining that unless we get information from the Target Server.

-R
Rick Elliott
Lead Solutions Consultant
(402) 944.4242
(800) 949-4696

Rocky

Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:38 am

Post by Rocky » Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:54 pm
Rick,
How would I go about finding out which of these many reasons was the one causing a specific failure?

- Roc

Support_Rick

Support Specialist
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Support_Rick » Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:57 pm
Get a detailed log from the Customer/Trading Partner indicating the reason for the dropped connection would be the best place to start.
Rick Elliott
Lead Solutions Consultant
(402) 944.4242
(800) 949-4696

Rocky

Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:38 am

Post by Rocky » Mon Nov 10, 2014 1:27 pm
Rick,
So just to be clear about this - you are saying that GoAnywhere could not possibly be at fault in such a situation, yes?
- Roc

Support_Rick

Support Specialist
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Support_Rick » Mon Nov 10, 2014 5:59 pm
Roc,

What I'm saying is .. there's no way, just from that message, to determine what the exact reason was for disconnecting.

What I will say (and my assumption is that you are trying to FTP a document to some Resource) is that, setting up your Resource to perform Retries with a Delay will usually keep these types of issues from happening.

On your CONNECTION Tab inside your FTP Resource, change your Retries to 5 and your Retry Interval to 20 or 30 or even 60. This means, when you get that error, it will wait "x" time then try again, picking up where it left off. If (after 5 retries) you're still having an issue during transfer, then there will be logged information in your Job Log that will give you more reasons as to why .. if you have the "DEBUG" enabled on the FTP Task you are executing.
Rick Elliott
Lead Solutions Consultant
(402) 944.4242
(800) 949-4696
6 posts Page 1 of 1