copying a set of directories

Post any question you may have in regards to GoAnywhere Director and let our talented support staff and other users assist you.
3 posts Page 1 of 1

DellDTR

Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:26 pm

Post by DellDTR » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:54 pm
I have a current project that needs to copy a set of directories to another directory. The directories needing to be copied are all empty. I have tried to use a file listing and setting the recursive flag to true, but since the directories are all empty, nothing is copied. Can you point me in the right direction as to what I should be doing in order to copy these directories?

Our version of Go Anywhere is 4.0.0

Thanks

Support_Julie

User avatar
Support Specialist
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:49 pm
Location: Ashland, NE USA

Post by Support_Julie » Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:58 pm
FileSets do not include directory listings. They only include files. So when a directory is empty, nothing is in the FileSet. The copy task is currently directed towards copying files and only creates folders when a file needs to be copied.

We are considering this for a future release. However there I am not sure of when. If this is critical, there may an alternative. Please call in to discuss.
Julie Rosenbaum
Sr Support Analyst
e. goanywhere.support@helpsystems.com
p. 1.800.949.4696
w. HelpSystems.com

DellDTR

Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:26 pm

Post by DellDTR » Tue May 15, 2012 10:14 am
We were able to do a work around in Go Anywhere. We ended up writing an external batch file that copied the names of the folders we were looking to create to an external file. We read this file and used the last instance of method to find the last slash in each of those folder paths. The substring method was then used to pull the last node of the path. Using this method we were able to create the set of folders we needed
3 posts Page 1 of 1