Custom Task and Rowset

Post any question you may have in regards to GoAnywhere MFT and let our talented support staff and other users assist you.
4 posts Page 1 of 1

gfrench

Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:30 am

Post by gfrench » Tue Feb 23, 2016 10:48 am
I'm struggling to set a rowset in Custom Task. I have a jdbc resultset rs

project.createOrReplaceVariable("db.rows", rs.getString(1)));

I get:- The value must be a Collection or a Rowset, but found 'java.lang.String'

project.createOrReplaceVariable("db.rows", rs);

gives me: -The value must be a Collection or a Rowset, but found 'oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleResultSetImpl'

Any clues or help appreciated on how to translate an rs to db.rows?

Thanks

Support_Rick

Support Specialist
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Support_Rick » Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:27 pm
gFrench,

The forum is not usually a place for support on Custom Tasks. It's about general usage of the product.

This is a business specific issue which would be a billable service or training.

Please contact our Support Desk for additional guidance at Support@Linoma.com.

Thanks!
Rick Elliott
Lead Solutions Consultant
(402) 944.4242
(800) 949-4696

gfrench

Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:30 am

Post by gfrench » Fri Mar 04, 2016 4:48 am
Hi,

I was hoping the community could help where Linoma can not. That is one of the reasons for having a forum is it not?

As for "general usage of the product", do you mean this forum is just for the most popular parts of the product?

Building a custom task is part of the product. There are features like "install custom task" under the System menu in MFT and there is a product manual "Go Anywhere MFT Custom Task Guide", so although maybe less used its still part of the product and the use base can help. There are already posts on the beanInfo.xml which where useful.

I've actual fixed the issue now. Its a case of using a string array to return the results out of the custom task, then the variable can be used in a "forItem" loop.

ArrayList<String[]> resultSet = new ArrayList<String[]>();
resultSet.add("Hello World);
resultSet.add("Goodbye Planet");
project.createOrReplaceVariable(resultVariableAttribute, resultSet);

I hope that helps anyone else who stumbles on this forum.

Thanks

Support_Rick

Support Specialist
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Support_Rick » Fri Mar 04, 2016 10:56 am
You are absolutely correct, and that's why we approved this for the community ... in case someone has options or suggestions that can help, they are more than welcome to reply!

My apologies if it appeared we weren't going to support the product, we just have to make a determination between product support and specific business need.

Thank you for the reply!
Rick Elliott
Lead Solutions Consultant
(402) 944.4242
(800) 949-4696
4 posts Page 1 of 1