How to cancel an Active Job that was stuck?

Post any question you may have in regards to GoAnywhere Director and let our talented support staff and other users assist you.
6 posts Page 1 of 1

Prashanthi Rao

Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:36 am

Post by Prashanthi Rao » Fri Jun 26, 2015 3:56 pm
I am seeing the same job from so many days in the active jobs list.
I tried to cancel it, but it is not getting cancelled.

As this job got stucked, in the next schedules, the job is throwing an error.

The error is as follows;
Project 'ADP To Oracle GL' is defined as not thread safe and an instance with job number '1372869524078' is already running. Please wait for this job to finish and then try again.

The job number that was mentioned in the error is the one which is in the active jobs list from so many days.

Can somehelp me in this regard?


Thanks,
Prashanthi Rao.

Support_Rick

Support Specialist
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Support_Rick » Fri Jun 26, 2015 5:02 pm
Prashanthi,

Check the job log to make sure it has a "completed" at the end. If so, there there has to be some reason why it wasn't removed (unable to connect to DB, etc). Maybe check the System Job Log to see (around the same time as the end of job) for additional errors that might determine why this happened.

To remove this from the Active Job Queue, you will need to stop/restart your GADirector Service.

Concerning the Thread-Safe...

If the project being run Is/can be run as a thread-safe job, then, from the Project Level in the Control Tab, change the "Thread safe" to YES. This will allow Multiple versions of the same project to run at the same time.

BUT ONLY DO THIS IF YOU KNOW FOR SURE THAT THE PROJECT DOESN'T AFFECT OTHER PROJECTS RUNNING AT THE SAME TIME!
Rick Elliott
Lead Solutions Consultant
(402) 944.4242
(800) 949-4696

Prashanthi Rao

Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:36 am

Post by Prashanthi Rao » Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:45 am
Thanks for the reply Rick.

Will you please let me know if we restart the GAD services, will it affect currently running jobs?

Support_Rick

Support Specialist
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Support_Rick » Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:59 am
Prashanthi,

Anytime you stop/start GAD it will affect the current running jobs. You will need to plan this when you can have a window of opportunity to do a quick stop/start of the GAD Service. Shouldn't be more than 10-20 seconds of downtime. Please make sure that no other jobs are running at the time!
Rick Elliott
Lead Solutions Consultant
(402) 944.4242
(800) 949-4696

Prashanthi Rao

Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:36 am

Post by Prashanthi Rao » Thu Jul 02, 2015 2:54 pm
Rick,

Thanks for the Info.
The problem got resolved :)

hsb11788

Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:51 pm

Post by hsb11788 » Thu Nov 17, 2016 3:55 pm
Why does canceling a job require a restart of the services? I'm curious because we've had this issue since we upgraded to MFT, we know the workaround now for those resources that wouldn't connect, but prior to the upgrade, clicking the cancel icon would actually cancel the job.
6 posts Page 1 of 1