MFT clustering and receiving internal transfers

Post any question you may have in regards to GoAnywhere MFT and let our talented support staff and other users assist you.
6 posts Page 1 of 1

cjordan19

Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:58 am

Post by cjordan19 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:12 am
I have read the "GoAnywhere MFT System Architecture Guide" but it does not address how internal transfers are handled by the cluster.
For example, if I have node1 and node2 MFT servers in a cluster, how do the internal users know which node to transfer the files to?
I'm assuming this can be done with a third part load balancer but I just want to get an idea of how others have handled this.

Thank you.

Support_Rick

Support Specialist
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Support_Rick » Thu Mar 02, 2017 10:22 am
This is handled by the GACmd Client when calling GAMFT from the external Server (Java, C#, CLP, RPG, S4, Control M, etc...)

The API call has a "Server" parameter. You put both servers in the parameter and if it can't connect to the first, it connects to the second.
Rick Elliott
Lead Solutions Consultant
(402) 944.4242
(800) 949-4696

cjordan19

Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:58 am

Post by cjordan19 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 1:46 pm
What if the user is using command line FTP from a windows command prompt? Or filezilla?

Support_Rick

Support Specialist
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Support_Rick » Thu Mar 02, 2017 1:51 pm
Then you will need to use an internal DNS, VIP or Load Balancer that points to the currently active server.
Rick Elliott
Lead Solutions Consultant
(402) 944.4242
(800) 949-4696

cjordan19

Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:58 am

Post by cjordan19 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:08 pm
That's what I thought but I just wanted to make sure it was doable.
I plan on using a load balancer and round robin to each of the MFT servers.

We also have many users with auditor abilities on the MFT server.
If there are 2 nodes running the MFT then I'm assuming the https 8001 port can be used through an internal load balancer as well?

Support_Rick

Support Specialist
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Support_Rick » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:42 pm
Yes, 8000 or 8001 will work the same way... only difference is SSL Security on 8001
Rick Elliott
Lead Solutions Consultant
(402) 944.4242
(800) 949-4696
6 posts Page 1 of 1